loader

Talk

Advanced search

Can anyone tell me how to reference

(8 Posts)
Beauregard Sat 24-Sep-11 13:56:06

In a very simple way please smile

SuePurblybilt Sat 24-Sep-11 13:59:27

grin. In text or in a reference list? What's your source? Are you using Harvard?
Quick guide here

Beauregard Sat 24-Sep-11 14:09:15

And all i have read is bleaugh grin
I have completed my first journal and have never written one before and i need to reference it at the end?
I have never used works before either so a bit clueless.

SuePurblybilt Sat 24-Sep-11 14:17:04

You've completed a journal? You've lost me there, do you mean an article for an academic journal? Or an essay? Either way, Harvard is the usual system at degree level.

If you've quoted or used someone else's work you need to reference it in the text and also provide a reference list at the end, with the full publication details. The link I posted will tell you how to do that, depending on the type of work you used - the way you write it depends on whether it's a book, article, website or whatever.

If it's an assignment for a degree, your college may have its own variations on Harvard and they should publish that: most have loads of referencing help on their websites. I don't work in FE so I can't be sure what the requirements are at those levels, hopefully someone can come along and help if you're doing another qualification?

Beauregard Sat 24-Sep-11 14:20:50

lol @ degree see i'm not good at all this academic lark.My grammar and punctuation is rubbish too.
I have written a reflective journal for a level 2 course.
Thanks for trying to help my feeble brain.

SuePurblybilt Sat 24-Sep-11 14:36:55

grin. There's no reason why you shouldn't do a degree, nobody is born knowing how to do this referencing lark. FFS, I teach it to degree students and I still have to look it up sometimes. don't tell them that

I wasn't sure if you meant HE or FE as it seems to be interchangeable in this section.