Talk

Advanced search

english lit and lang AS results

(7 Posts)
pinksmartie Thu 18-Aug-11 19:59:16

Did anyone elses DC get much lower than predicted English AS results my DD only got a C but she got a A for course work and was predicted an A. I feel so disappointed for her as I know she's a hard worker, I know she still has a year to pull it back but was wondering if anyone else had a similar experience

Tidybush Thu 18-Aug-11 21:37:01

Yes mine did. DD was predicted a B for Eng lit but got a D. However, she had already decided to drop this so this made it easier.

pinksmartie Thu 18-Aug-11 21:41:42

my DD really wants to do english at uni so dropping not a option!
I hope your DD did well in her other AS's!

Tidybush Thu 18-Aug-11 21:51:56

Well a C isn't bad - it's not too much of a leap to pull it up in a year.

Has she looked at any unis and if so what are the required grades like?

I did my degree in English a few years ago as a mature student and loved it.

My DD got a B and two Cs so hopes to pull each up by at least a grade. Although having said that she wants to go to drama school, where competition is very fierce and entry is based on audition. Not many students get in at 18 so her plan B is to work for a year and reapply in 2013 so knows that she'll need good grades to get into employment even if it's just a stopgap.

I think our DCs are in a better position that this year's yr 13s because at least we know they'll have the higher fees so there isn't the same kind of pressure to get in first time.

pinksmartie Thu 18-Aug-11 22:00:14

I know your right...she'll pull it up next year
she wants to english/creative writing or english/media studies
most uni's she's looked at want ABB. we have talked about taking a year....she still has lots of options.
thanks for your response

eatyourveg Fri 19-Aug-11 08:07:29