Talk

Advanced search

Anyone a school bursar or finance manager or something like that?

(5 Posts)
IdrisTheDragon Sat 12-Sep-09 12:51:29

Am vaguely thinking about it for some time in the future.

I am a qualified chartered accountant who was working in practice until about 18 months ago. Realise I need to investigate it more but was wondering if anyone else does this and can tell me more about it first smile

vinblanc Sat 12-Sep-09 13:02:19

I'm not a school bursar, but I know that if you look at at ISC website and TES website you will find areas for bursars.

A school bursar often has a much broader role than just accountancy. They may be involved in personel, particularly for support staff, and also buildings maintenance and compliance with workplace regulations.

Most school bursars will be accountants but if you want to branch out beyond number crunching, it could be the ideal place for you. You would be a key member of the management team and responsible for implementing the development plan.

Badpups Mon 14-Sep-09 13:39:49

My knowledge of this field is out of date but some may still be relevant.

I'm an accountant and I used to work for the Education Dept in my local authority running a team that provided support to school bursars, finance officers, secretaries responsible for finance and head teachers.

In the primary sector most of the finance work was done by the school secretary or the school would outsource the work to a member of my team. This work is primarily basic book-keeping and most of the jobs seemed to go to somebody who knew somebody associated with the school!

I guess that you'd be more interested in the secondary sector or possibly an independent school?