Talk

Advanced search

Who has an outdoorsy/wildlifey/countrysidey/national parkish sort of job?

(15 Posts)
TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 11:48:53

Will you tell me about it please?

Thanks smile

moopymoo Sun 02-Aug-09 11:52:50

I used to work as a countryside ranger. Was lots of fun and I absolutely loved it. I left because there was so much weekend work and the money was very very shite. As it is for most jobs in the sector. I have a heritage management degree plus I spent many years as a volunteer which is how i got into it.

TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 12:02:27

Oh, weekend work could be a problem with 4 dcs!!
Thank you for telling me.
I am really hoping that I can find a job in an area that interests me. I know I will have to study though as I am pathetic and degreeless.

moopymoo Sun 02-Aug-09 12:05:27

are you able to do some volunteer work? That is a really good way into the sector. Dont want to put you off completely as there are some fab interesting jobs out there - but yes it was the weekend unfamily friendly stuff that made me leave - i have now retrained as a counsellor.

TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 12:07:50

I don't have a great deal of time but I will look into it. Already volunteer for a village community thing <sigh>
My youngest starts school in Sept so things may open up a bit.

moopymoo Sun 02-Aug-09 12:10:40

this is a good place for job stuff but you have to subscribe for detailed search

TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 12:19:23

Ooh thanks smile

TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 16:14:24

bump smile

TooTicky Sun 02-Aug-09 18:27:23

bump

SuperBunny Sun 02-Aug-09 18:42:36

Can you get involved with a local wildlife group - if there is an animal or thing you are interested in, volunteer work can eventually lead to paid work (but it is hard to get), e.g local bat/ badger/ raptor/ pond conservation people etc.

Also, BTCV sometimes do family days where you could take the DC to do some volunteer stuff.

vonsudenfed Sun 02-Aug-09 18:56:39