Talk

Advanced search

I am trapped. Please give me some ideas...

(38 Posts)
tamarindlazuli Tue 28-Jul-09 22:00:46

I am considering quitting my job tomorrow. My OH is all for it for the sake of my mental health first and foremost but realistically we can't afford to live on one salary for long and I am at a loss what kind of job to even look for, let alone think that I'll be lucky enough to get one during such an economic low.

Basically I went back F/T to a job I hate following 9 months of maternity. I genuinely thought I would have found something else before my time was up but had no luck, but admittedly I was looking in and around the same sector and mostly at P/T options because working F/T did not seem like an option, and P/T in my industry does not really exist to my knowledge...

Work rejected my P/T request, forcing me to either quit or go back F/T which I've been doing for the past 3 months and I am falling apart.
I get up at 5.30am, drop off DS at his childcare at 6.45, get to work for 8.15, have no break until 5.30 when I am supposed to leave but that rarely happens and tonight I left at gone 7.30 and got home by 9pm, not even seeing DS for a second tonight except asleep in his cot.

My OH generally picks DS up so that's covered but it's killing me not seeing him and the guilt is something that I cannot live with for much longer. I am missing DS's milestone developments (he's just starting to walk) and all I get are the edited highlights at the weekend, when I get to see how much he's learnt since the previous week - but not from me.

Anyway now I've got to do it all over again tomorrow and I know that even if I ask for a meeting with my boss and tell her very honestly that if my workload doesn't lighten, I will be forced to resign, because I know the company and their history, that nothing will change and I am better off out of there.