Talk

Advanced search

Should I give up work? Lawyer on the edge!

(20 Posts)
Ronipops Sun 12-Jul-09 19:11:00

I've recently returned to work after a year off with DH. I am a City lawyer. TBH, I've had massive reservations about returning, love being with DS and think he loves being with me ...and I suppose I just think it's good for him to have his Mum around all the time whilst he's still very little. Plus, not over the moon about my job, like the technical side of it, just not the cut and thrust!

It would have been just about do-able for me to stop work for a while from a financial perspective, but it would have meant a big change in lifestyle and possibly moving house (having only moved recently), not too mention the pressure that DH would have been under as the only earner...

I decided to give it a go on a part time basis (4 days pw, and being strict about leaving on time), however, it's not quite working out as I hoped. I don't feel well-supported really (feels like I'm being a nuisance not being around all the time). Furthermore, on my working days I've ended staying a couple of hours later than I planned, plus working on days off / weekends. Obviously, I don't mind checking emails & doing urgent stuff but it feels like I'm doing several hours worth of work on days off which basically ruins the time I do have with DS. Plus I feel stressed all the time.

Feel close to jacking it in but the "conventional" part of me says I can't throw away my career after all this training etc..but I just don't see how this is going to work out long term. It seems to me that it is not a job which lends itself to genuine part time working. Have looked into PSL work but nothing available in my field at the moment.

Should I go with my gut and give it up for a while and do something different in a few years (assume i wouldn't be able to go back to law)?