Talk

Advanced search

Can any doctors reassure me please, I'm having a panic.

(8 Posts)
Lulabell Wed 03-Jun-09 18:42:18

Not actually a health related question.

I'm in my third year at medical school (although already have one degree, so I'm a bit older than most) and my fiance and I decided a few months ago that we want to start a family. We spent ages talking through all the logistics (eg taking a year out, childcare for final years, he's a teacher so maximising his hometime, and ultimately possibly abandoning surgery for gp) and came to the conclusion that it would be tough but manageable.

However, as time ticks by with out getting a bfp it's giving me more time to panic that maybe it's a terrible idea and that I'll never be able to finish medical school, much less make it through FY1&2 with a small baby/child.

Is it possible to be a junior doctor with a small child, or worse, with 2, as having had one I wouldn't want to wait 6 years for another. Or is there a better time to do? We're a bit stuck as my fiance is 9 yrs older than me and understandably doesnt want to wait too long to start a family, and neither do I particularly, certainly not until I'm a consultant which is what my tutor helpfully suggested hmm .

Thanks very much for any advice you can give me! I'm hoping I'm just in a flap about nothing, and impending exams dont help!

reikizen Wed 03-Jun-09 19:16:43

Although I'm not a medical student,I am just coming to the end of my midwifery degree and had an 18 month old when I started and had a baby at the end of my first year. Can honestly say wasn't as bad as many people thought it would be and almost every girl on the course has children (some have 4 or 5!) Sometimes it's a bloody nightmare but as long as your dp can do his share of childcare I found it manageable.

hotbot Wed 03-Jun-09 20:04:37

personally think you are mad and should finish your course, strating out as a jnr is extremely tough without the pressure of a lo