Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Give up full time job for two part time jobs - would I be mad??

(4 Posts)
sweetmelody Wed 22-Oct-08 23:27:51

Sorry so, so long, but reallu hoping to get some clarity from you wise Mumnetters and a solution to my dilemma.

I returned to my full time job at the beginning of June after 9 months mat leave. DS is 13 months old and is looked after by my Mum. It is a great, flexible arrangement. She took a career break from work and I can afford to pay her rather than a childminder.

I work full time partly because DH has his own business and earns a lot less (but without the flexibility that he has in his working hours, allowing him to do the drop off and pick up, we couldn't do it) and partly because I enjoyed my job and always wanted to return to work and "just see how it goes".

My job was always demanding but since I have been back it has been horrendous. I work in finance and this is always the busiest time of the year, but I often work twelve hour days and am hardly seeing DS. I dont need to work part time, I just want to get out of the office at a reasonable time. I have raised all my issues with my boss, he has set up meetings with HR etc etc and on the face of it he is doing what he can to try and find a solution, but deep down I have admitted to myself that a job at this level (I'm a finance director) cannot be done with the sort of work life balance that I want.

I've got bills to pay so I have to accept the pain, short term, with an eye to the future. I've accepted that, with the level I work at and the 'all hours' culture in my business, I need to quit the job, but in the current climate, finding something else is going to be tough.