Talk

Advanced search

Is anyone a Counsellor?

(9 Posts)
frankie3 Thu 09-Oct-08 15:04:14

I am thinking of training to become a counsellor. Does anyone have any advice on this, as I do not know anyone who does counselling?

There are a lot of courses around and I am unsure of the best one to do. I have a degree, but in a completely unrelated subject, and would like to do a part time course in a local college, or distance learning with support.

Thanks, if anyone can help me.

wannaBe Thu 09-Oct-08 15:13:22

I'm not a counsellor but I did start down the road of training to be one.

Firstly, it's a fairlly long, expensive and very emotional process. And it is something you don't necessarily have control over - counselling chooses you not the other way around, and if at any time your tutors think you will not be a suitable counsellor they will tell you and there your study will end. Only 10% of people who start out on counsellling courses actually go on to become counsellors.

It depends on which kind of course you end up with but at some point during the course you will have to go into therapy (for which you will have to pay) so as to ensure that you deal with any issues you have in your own life before being faced with these in a client-counsellor situation, and also to gain empathy with the people you will be counselling.

hth

frankie3 Fri 10-Oct-08 17:35:08

Thanks for that - I had no idea that I would need therapy! The courses do look expensive, which is why I do not want to make a mistake. Does anyone know of anywhere where I could volunteer to get some experience of what it would entail?

fullmoonfiend Fri 10-Oct-08 17:45:43

also, in terms of paid work afterwards - few and far between.