Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Please share ideas for the kind of part-time work a bright but not-qualified-for-anything-in-particular mum could do

(12 Posts)
appleoverload Mon 22-Sep-08 16:04:43

I have a design degree, though am not specifically qualified for a particular kind of design work. I have done quite a lot of charity work, pre-DS, including fundraising and copy-writing and design work - but again, am not specifically qualified nor highly trained in these fields.

Despite storming through school, I never got a "career" off the ground as such. Now, I have been out of the work loop for four-and-a-half years, and unexpectedly need to return to work very soon - so no time for retraining first.

I have a ton of hobbies, and really would love to do all kinds of odd bits to earn a living, but that probably isn't viable.

I'd love to hear any ideas at all for what kind of work I could possibly do mornings only, or up to three days a week.

Ideally, I need to earn upwards of £12,000.

Thanks.

morningpaper Mon 22-Sep-08 16:08:26

I would get an admin job at a charity, and then get involved with perhaps some fundraising or designing leaflets etc to show off your skills. Then you could move into perhaps a Fundraising assistant type role (you could perhaps apply for these with your current experience), which could lead to Fundraising opportunities. Fundraisers need design skills IME.

If you get no-where with this, what about asking your local CVS (volunteer bureau) if there are any charities that need board members or similar?

captainmummy Mon 22-Sep-08 16:09:28

Me too! I've been out of work for 15 years (SAHM) other than dinner-lady, school volunteering etc. I used to work in computing, but my skils are out-of-the-ark now (I was pre-internet!!).

Couple of days a week, couple of hours a day. Not bothered about the earnings, it's as much to get me out of the house and meeting new people.grin

WilfSell Mon 22-Sep-08 16:13:23