Talk

Advanced search

Thinking of withdrawing an application for a job - would love your thoughts

(6 Posts)
Stefka Mon 08-Sep-08 08:55:47

I am looking for part time work - not been having a lot of success. I am a teacher but only one years experience and then had a year out to have DS so am keen to get back into the profession but no jobs have come up. Am registered for supply but nothing happening yet - early in the term I guess.

Anyway I have been applying for freelance jobs and something came up but now I am considering withdrawing my application for the following reasons:

1) The hours are awkward and I am not sure we can manage the childcare. It's mainly evening work but DH often works evenings and we couldn't afford to get someone in. It also means DS being at a relatives over tea time which I think will be really disruptive to him as he is often teary at that time and then when DH picked him up he would probably fall asleep in the car on the way home before he had had his bath etc and also I won't be there to breast feed him before bed.
2) I do a course on one of the nights which I have already invested money and I would have to give it up.
3) I do a youth group another night which I would also have to give up
4) A possible teaching job has come up which I have applied for. The school were not sure about hours etc but asked me to apply. This would be much better obviously as it will get me back into the profession and the hours are much more practical. I have a relative who can look after DS in the day time.

But reasons for still going for this other job:

1)It's a job
2)I can't guarantee that I will get the teaching job