Talk

Advanced search

Any university researchers/academics around? Some advice pls

(17 Posts)
madmarriedNika Mon 01-Sep-08 15:53:41

I am starting work in a week as a research associate, doing similar work to what I used to do 18 months ago, but fortunately for me in a part-time setting. As I don't want to be an RA forever (was one for 5 yrs til Jan '07) and wish to progress up the academic ladder I've been doing a part-time PhD for nearly 6 yrs, and hope to submit next yr. I already have a masters degree.

My problem is with publications- I have a few as a co-author but not as lead author. The two I submitted this past 9 months as lead author have just this week been rejected, one of them after a second rewrite I am concerned that as I'm not able to work full-time and there is no "free" time to focus on publications that I am missing the boat, and I am worried that unless I can get going on publishing I'll never get a look in for an academic career. Also I am worried my brain just isn't up to it anymore- seriously- I struggle to concentrate (v tired, but what's new for a Mum of under 5s) and find writing my thesis or papers very hard (used to find it a breeze..). After this weeks disappointment I am wondering whether I should review my ambitions as am doubting my abilities...

How have you managed juggling a family and a university career?
All experience v welcome. Thanks.

WilfSell Mon 01-Sep-08 16:02:00

Tis very hard, especially as an RA. I would have a chat early on in your new job with your line manager to discuss the possibility of time to write. Even if not every week, you might be able to negotiate something, say 2 days a month. It is in the university's interests to let you do this as the publications add to their research profile also. Especially if you offer to lead author things on the research project that your busy PI won't be able to start up all the time.