Talk

Advanced search

Any ex-teachers out there ? What do you do now.?

(18 Posts)
littleoldme Tue 05-Aug-08 13:20:55

I'm a secondary English teacher and I hate it. I've given myself until Christmas to come up a plan. Is there life outside the classroom shock

Brid72 Wed 06-Aug-08 17:21:34

Hi I am an ex-Geography teacher. I gave up five years ago just before my eldest daughter was born. I now do a variety of things such as marking GCSE papers once a year, working for a children's toys direct sales company and in September I am going to start doing 4 mornings a week at my local pre-school.

I can't imagine now going back to the marking and paperwork. I loved the teaching but I want to be able to drop my kids off and pick them up from school and have free evenings, rather than doing what I used to which was spend them doing marking and preparation.

MaloryDontDiveItsShallow Wed 06-Aug-08 17:23:41

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Brid72 Wed 06-Aug-08 19:24:17

Supply is a great idea if you get the schools you want. I would have done it and would still but unfortunately it is not easy to get to schools near where i live using public transport and my husband uses our car for getting to his work.

TishTashToys Sun 10-Aug-08 09:22:22

Hi, I used to teach in F.E. which I loved but moved from that job and area due to hubby's job etc. Then had babies, blah-de-blah!! Anyway, I now run my own business www.tishtashtoys.com which I love. I still get the teaching side out of my system as we have over 100 people working for us - and I do training (usually online) for them. I also still write a lot for my website and blog, and spent time researching. So do get to use lots of the skills from Uni etc just don't have the politics and hassles which used to come with teaching!

Slouchy Sun 10-Aug-08 09:28:43