Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

From a sort of career to a little part-time job...

(13 Posts)
ks Thu 10-Feb-05 15:17:54

Message withdrawn

spacedonkey Thu 10-Feb-05 15:20:34

I know what you mean ks, i have been working in IT for the last 10 years doing a (fairly) skilled job, and enjoyed the status and confidence I felt it gave me - but at the moment I'm jobless and whatever I do next will be of the McJob variety I should think. Have you read Alain de Botton's Status Anxiety? It's very good on this

bundle Thu 10-Feb-05 15:23:43

i feel the same, but am glad not to have any responsibilities atm, which means i can scoot off at fairly short notice if i need to for one of the dd's. my sil on the other hand has recently moved to a job sharing arrangement and feels just like you. she ideally would like to go back to her full time, full responsiblity job (she has 3 kids, lives out of london but works there) but not sure if this is possible now. tricky.

desperatehousewife Thu 10-Feb-05 15:25:26

totally understand - did a 'proper' job for 8 years then lost my way a bit and floundered thinking i didn't really want the big career - then got preg so have been at home for last 3 years and am now gagging to get back to work - I can't stand the way some people just glaze over when you say your're a full time mum.