Talk

Advanced search

Does anyone know where I can get decent career advice (apart from Mumsnet, obv...)

(12 Posts)
YeahBut Wed 13-Feb-08 23:08:57

Am at the point of thinking about returning to the workforce for my own sanity and development. I just have no idea what to do. I do know that I don't want to go back into my previous career (PR), but 9 years of being a SAHM kind of knocks the confidence to do anything different. I have a pretty generic degree and enjoyed study so retraining would be OK, if I just had a clue about what I want to do with my life.
Has anyone got any ideas of where to get advice? How do real grown-ups decide what to do, anyway?

dolally Wed 13-Feb-08 23:20:22

a PR background is a pretty good one for many areas I reckon.

Have you thought about the usuals, like full-time part-time, areas, commuting, self-employed, own business...all that stuff?

How about the UCAS website to check out what kind of adult courses are available...?

or the recruitment pages of the broadsheets to give you ideas...

Good luck, I'm still trying to decide what to be when I grow up (after 15 years in the same job!)

elkiedee Thu 14-Feb-08 00:19:59

I would have thought your PR skills would be relevant in various different sorts of jobs - inhouse communications? Monday's Guardian might be worth a look? Or try employment agencies - register with a few and see if they come up with anything that makes you think yuk, or hmm, yes, I'll give that a try.

Or see if your local FE college could make course suggestions that appeal.

Good luck

micegg Fri 15-Feb-08 16:09:35

Oddly enough I came across a site today. Its learning direct and they have a section for careere advice. They have a quick questionnaire you can complete and it comes up with some suggested jobs and how to qualify for those jobs. I thought it was really good but didnt have time to read fully so will wait till DD is in bed.

micegg Fri 15-Feb-08 16:10:07

Could be 'Learn direct' actually.