Retraining for NHS admin roles

(17 Posts)
waitingfortheknightbus Fri 16-Oct-20 20:31:28

I have had a happy career in marketing and design. Woo hoo!

But the roles are flakey and I want a change.

I would love to work in a medical setting. How can I get a job in the NHS as admin when my career has been in something completely different? I’m not getting anywhere with applications for basic low paid office work sad

Any tips??

OP’s posts: |
Ginfilledcats Fri 16-Oct-20 20:58:13

Hey, search on here for NHS interview tips, I often reply to them with a big list of helpful things. I'm a senior manager in nhs and have risen through the ranks from band 2 up.

What sort of admin roles are you applying for? Hospitals and CCGs have communication teams that your background would be ideal for! But if you're looking for generic admin jobs there are tonnes.

Make sure you tailor your personal statement on the nhs application for each job. Don't just write one and fire it off to every job you're interested in. Refer to the actual job and trust within the statement too.

I go through the job description and person spec and highlight key words or skills, then I make a table of how I've demonstrated that experience in pre ious roles. I then structure my applications thematically and basically give them examples of all the skills.

For example, for a data administrator role they usually want attention to detail, independent working, meeting deadlines etc so I might write something along the lines of: