Talk

Advanced search

How do you explain time off with kids

(7 Posts)
gigi556 Mon 07-Sep-20 11:32:17

Wasn't really sure how to word the subject!
My son starts nursery next week and I'm looking for work. I started a small business part-time when he was one so I have been doing self-employed work but I really need to earn more money hence looking at jobs.
I got an MSc in 2013 and had worked in related jobs before having my son in 2017, but I'm looking to re-start this career and need to apply for trainee jobs to get a professional qualification. Never pursued this qualification in previous roles. So how do I address the 6/7 year gap between my MSc and wanting a "trainee" role to qualify. Should I say, I've been taking time off from this career to look after children/family? Or say nothing? I'm just not sure how it's going to look... Or if anyone is even going to be interested in me! I feel so old sad

OP’s posts: |
toomanyspiderplants Mon 07-Sep-20 11:37:21

Don't say nothing! you need to explain the gap. you have been looking after your son and started a business. .just say that. explain the business. its quite impressive!

FlorenceNightshade Mon 07-Sep-20 18:03:35

You’ve been running a business!! That’s amazing experience right there you are selling yourself short OP!

You just say something like you did your Msc then focused on family and developed a business that fitted in with that and now your ready to follow your first love.

Good luck

gigi556 Mon 07-Sep-20 19:53:10

Thanks for your replies @toomanyspiderplants and @FlorenceNightshade. I've always had a confidence issue with career stuff. I'm always focusing on what I haven't achieved and everything I've done wrong rather than my strong points. 😕 And I'm worried that having a family is going to put people off hiring me.

FlorenceNightshade Mon 07-Sep-20 20:07:04