Talk

Advanced search

Feeling lost after 5 years as SAHM

(15 Posts)
mebeforeyou Fri 21-Feb-20 21:53:43

Just wondering if anyone has felt similar to me..DS(5) is in Reception and I’ve been keeping an eye on the local job situation since last June. DH works very long hours so I’ve been looking for part-time work to avoid putting DS into after-school care, as he sometimes gets upset enough as it it not seeing his DF much let alone if he doesn’t see me until 6-7pm each day (he also has anxiety which does not help). I get daily job alerts from a few different websites but absolutely nothing appeals as it’s all retail/carer jobs, or if it does I have no prior experience and no transferable skills either.

I’m just one of those people who have never found a job to feel passionate about. I should have studied nursing many years ago but now I’m too old to take on fee debts and we have no family back-up for childcare etc - it’s one of my biggest regrets in life and the only occupation I wish I had done. Instead, I’ve always been stuck in dead-end office jobs since leaving university.

Now, I’m mid-40’s and not worked for 5 years and my self-confidence to even go and volunteer to build up some new experiences and skills is such that I just panic and freeze at the thought of being with people again in a work environment even as a volunteer. It doesn’t help that my last job (there for 11 years) for a corporate giant has left a few bitter memories and I don’t want to go back to what I was doing before, and am also disillusioned with the whole corporate world and office politics. I feel like I’ve changed as a person and simply can’t be bothered with this kind of work environment anymore (or maybe it was just that company and somewhere else will be different, of course).