Talk

Advanced search

How to get into reception/admin work with no experience.

(10 Posts)
4rylou Thu 29-Nov-18 18:48:01

I was a sahm to 4 children for over 10yrs, ive recently got a job as a retail assistant but i would prefer more of an office based job, its just difficult as i have no experience. I have gcses and alevels from many moons ago but i was thinking of doing an ecdl computer course. Im really looking for a course that i put on my cv to help me get i that line of work. Anybody any ideas? Xx

OP’s posts: |
NGC2017 Thu 29-Nov-18 21:03:05

Sign up to agencies. That's how I got my receptionist job. My background was way more technical but like you I wanted something better around my DS. Many declined me straight away as no experience. Then I got lucky and was put forward for my job I have been in now for nearly 4 years. My circumstances suited the job being offered and they took a chance on me.
Show a willingness to learn and train but I got my job simply by luck. I have recently helped my mom get into work and she has now been successful. But for a while it was frustrating as all she was getting was unsuccessful due to lack of experience. No one really starts a job knowing exactly what they have to do. People need to take chances and allow people to prove themselves

GaynorGoodwin Sat 01-Dec-18 21:08:53

Have you thought about maybe volunteering? It’s a way in and you’ll gain lots of experience and skills.

minniemoll Sat 01-Dec-18 21:16:08

Work for a council. Based on long and bitter experience they seem to give admin jobs to people who can't type, don't really know how to answer the phone, and maybe saw a letter laid out correctly once. From a distance.

Obviously I could do all of those things wink, but training numpties on basic skills wasn't actually part of my job.

I'm so thankful I don't work there any more!

PrincessDando Mon 03-Dec-18 19:58:33