Talk

Advanced search

Anyone a Mental Health Social Worker? AMHP?

(14 Posts)
squirrelnut Sun 18-Nov-18 17:34:03

I am really interested in the Think Ahead progamme and wondering if anyone could discuss the realities of the role with me.

I am currently a Registered Manager in a small residential home for older adults with dementia. I love my role but the 24/7 nature is really impacting on my family life and my own mental health.

I have an (unrelated) degree and level 5 leadership and management in social care already.

I love working in the field of dementia and trying to make a difference to the lives of the adults my service supports. I get frustrated we don’t have the staffing levels I would wish for but at the same time our care is good and safe and my staff team is generally good.

I work very closely with the older adult mental health team.

I realise the job is challenging but so is my current role. Can anyone give me any advice please?

I would have to take a big pay cut to begin with (current salary £35k) but in time I think I could build up to this in a management role?

Firefretted Tue 20-Nov-18 23:42:01

Hi Squirrel, I'm on the Think Ahead programme. I've qualified and am now completing my ASYE and Masters degree. I'm afraid I'm not a mum so can't advise re juggling the programme and family life but please feel free to ask me about the programme itself :-)

squirrelnut Wed 21-Nov-18 19:44:18

Hello! Thanks so much for replying!

Could you advise what your working hours are like and do you have any out of hours commitments?

Obviously there’s the study element but what does your weekly schedule look like?

smile

Firefretted Wed 21-Nov-18 19:51:08