Talk

Advanced search

Need a plan!

(7 Posts)
Unicornshorn Sat 18-Aug-18 20:33:24

I returned to work from maternity leave 3.5 years ago and my post was soon made redundant. Only suitable job on offer was a promoted post/ job share which I went for and it's been hell ever since. Lots of issues with difficult colleagues, lots of unpaid overtime and just constant stress from working in the charity sector in terms of funding problems etc.

I've 20 years experience, studied at uni on three occasions to Masters level but I'm really wondering about a career change.

I work in a really toxic environment which is making me crave home working so I don't have to be in a team but part of me knows that's silly as not everywhere will be like that. I definitely feel that management is not for me as I'm quite sensitive and lacking in confidence but also don't know if my current work place is making me feel like that.

I would love less responsibility but need to think about a similar salary level because of commitments (about £20.00 ph) but part time hours. Am interested in things like digital marketing, blogging, web development, tutoring, setting up a business involving some sort of therapy and so on but don't know if these are unrealistic in terms of finding work/ income. These are just ideas, I don't really have a clear path in mind. I think I am very organised, have good writing skills, good at leading projects and development work plus lots of years experience working with children and young people in education and care settings.

Part of me feels resentful at having to think about a career change after all that study, but I feel like it's got me nowhere! Also wondering if should stick it out for another year until my child starts school but I don't know if I can cope!

Sorry for the ramble but any advice would be brilliant.

Thanks

OP’s posts: |
ThinkingCat Sat 18-Aug-18 21:34:15