Talk

Advanced search

Help with interview questions NHS MLA

(12 Posts)
MumOfDiamonds Sun 17-Jun-18 19:48:41

Hi smile. I've managed to secure an interview for a Laboratory Assistant role in the virology department at a local hospital. I'm not great at interviews as I don't have a great deal of confidence in myself. I'm 34 and worry they may prefer someone younger. I studied at college for an access to HE diploma and this is the career I really want for myself. Does anyone know what type of questions I might be faced with. I'm going to look through the job spec and role so I can match my experience in previous jobs with that but I am so nervous. Any advice would be brilliant and greatly appreciated.

OP’s posts: |
VioletCharlotte Sun 17-Jun-18 20:01:24

Not sure about the technical questions, but NHS interviews are normally values-based, and you're expected to answer in the STAR format (situation, task, action, result). The interviewer will be wanting to see if you are the right 'fit' by asking you questions that see how you match up to their values. So for example 'Tell me about a time when you had exceeded expectations'. There will also probably be a diversity and inclusion question.

The interviewers will score each of your answers. The candidate who receives the highest score overall should be the one who is offered the job.

MumOfDiamonds Sun 17-Jun-18 20:07:02

Thank you for that. I went for another interview in a different hospital and they asked 'tell me about a time that put you in a difficult situation and how you rectified it' or along those lines. I can't remember anything about the interview apart from that and the 'tell me about (this regions) NHS'. I know I have all the relevant experience for the role, it's just wording it right on the spot that worries me.

jeeeeeeeeeeeez Sun 17-Jun-18 20:16:38