Talk

Advanced search

Anxious about going back to work

(7 Posts)
Nikkibham Mon 28-May-18 23:46:43

Hello

Thank you for reading my post. This is the first time I have posted so please be kind lol.

I am currently on maternity leave, I had a beautiful baby girl and I’m due back to work soon. Unfortunately I cannot put it off any longer, we need the money.

I am a qualified social worker and most days I can handle my job and I enjoy it. I have been doing it for some time.

Recently I have been looking at my little baby and cry when I remember some of the cases I managed. I can recall babies I have seen who have been severely physically, mentally and sexually abused and although I felt I had coped with it at the time it’s caused some trauma. I am having nightmares and anxiety about returning to work and again having contact with these cases.

I guess the purpose of this post was just to acknowledge my anxieties. I will have to return to my work for at least 13 weeks and will think of ways to get support.

Did anyone else experience anxieties about returning to a difficult job and how did you cope?

mdtl Fri 08-Jun-18 14:51:36

Hello Nikkibham

I don’t really have advice to give but didn’t want to say nothing! You sound like you have experienced some really horrible things and I can completely see how you’d feel this way. Hope someone else can offer advice for you! My dd is 4 months old. Big hugs flowers

Nikkibham Fri 08-Jun-18 16:31:44

Thanks hun. I hope your enjoying motherhood 😊

User19992018 Fri 08-Jun-18 21:06:23

Can you get any support from work to help you cope?

it sounds like you've been exposed to some horrific cases and what you are feeling is only natural and to worry is normal.

When you become a Mum I think it switches on something that can't be switched off - I don't know what it is, but I find a cry nowfrequently at things that never used to bother me.