Talk

Advanced search

Train to become a Counsellor or Counselling Psychologist?

(11 Posts)
KnackeredOldWoman01 Tue 19-Dec-17 17:26:17

Hi

I’m currently studying for a certificate in counselling studies at my local college and it’s been really worthwhile. However I’m beginning to question if this is the right route for me because I’m concerned about finding employment once I have completed my training. The next course, level 4, is going to cost 5k if I carry on.

I’ve been reading up on clinical / counselling psychologist job roles and it sounds very interesting. It will require a lot of studying but perhaps more job opportunities once I have completed the studying.

Can anyone advise please?

OP’s posts: |
KnackeredOldWoman01 Tue 19-Dec-17 19:23:20

Bump

MiniTheMinx Wed 20-Dec-17 09:01:27

Could you take undergrad psychology or an MA in psychology? I think you are right. I know people with level 3 and 4 who are having to work other jobs and still volunteer to do counselling.

KnackeredOldWoman01 Wed 20-Dec-17 09:15:54

Thanks Mini, although I’m absolutely loving the counselling course it’s beginning to dawn on me that there may not be a paid job at the end of all the training. I’d feel gutted after all that time and money spent training to find im having to compete with loads of others for a volunteer role, never mind a paid job.

catspants Wed 20-Dec-17 09:31:42