Talk

Advanced search

Career change (to Marketing) Can't get an interview...any advice?

(16 Posts)
postmanfox Fri 15-Dec-17 10:07:25

I'm late 40s and have worked for many years for a large multi-national, in a vaguely techy role. I have done this job for years as it allowed me to work part-time and flexibly and fitted in well with having kids. Now my children are at secondary I want to change direction, and Marketing seemed like a good fit for me.

I have an arts background - a degree in art and I worked as a freelance illustrator in the 90s. I have a good standard of literacy, and love writing and editing, have good visual literacy/am creative.

I want to do something which involves writing content with some design/creative - I've done a CIM course and I'm now doing a Diploma in Digital Marketing. I've also done some work experience in a creative design and PR agency, which I loved, but that was a very small organisation and they weren't looking to take anyone else on.

The problem I'm finding is that I just can't get an interview. I've applied for many, many jobs - but I can't get past the paper sift. (Actually I did manage to get one interview for a digital copywriter job - they said I didn't have enough experience.) That was with the company I already work for.

Can anyone give me any pointers? Is there any point in pursuing this or am I flogging a dead horse? Is there anything I could do which would help me at least secure an interview, or is it just a combination of my age and lack of experience? I am starting to feel a bit hopeless about the whole thing. Any ideas or tips would be very much appreciated. Or anyone who is in a similar position and would like to share sob stories. smile

Hoppinggreen Fri 15-Dec-17 11:04:09

My friend owns a marketing company and when she employs people she looks at their digital presence, ie do they blog etc.
If they aren’t already very active ( in a positive way, nit drunken nights out photos) then she won’t interview