Talk

Advanced search

Considering becoming a softwear developer after being SAHM. Anyone out there done similar?

(24 Posts)
catk123 Tue 05-Dec-17 10:14:55

I am returning to work following 5 years as a SAHM, and considering a coding bootcamp to become a softwear developer. I have not come from a technical background, I have a degree in a Healthcare field so is a complete change in direction. Does anyone have any experiences of this or work in the field and can give me an idea about the reality of working in this industry please? I am 39 years old with 2 children, at primary school age.

nadinexo1 Tue 05-Dec-17 13:58:49

I am considering the same move but have an accounting degree although not worked for 3 years, sorry I have no advice but I'm watching with interest.

thebellsareringingout Tue 05-Dec-17 14:03:44

why development particularly? I'd have thought testing, business analysis or project management more accessible and just as lucrative.

there was a very similar thread on here a few weeks ago. Check out the accenture returners programme - not sure where you're based but that looked good to me.

Eve Tue 05-Dec-17 14:07:13

development will be quite difficult to get into without experience - most development work is done offshore in India and other countries.

As thebellsareringingout has said - testing , project management etc will be easier to access and more likely to be UK based and agree look at returner programs

PayUpPlease Tue 05-Dec-17 14:11:23

I have no useful info to add except that you spell it software, not softwear!

That's honestly not intended as a pissy post; people often get discounted for jobs straight away if they have errors in spelling/grammar in their application, so thought it safest to say something now rather than have you find out in a few months time.....

Oh, and good luck!

2017RedBlue Tue 05-Dec-17 14:15:21

There's plenty of software development going on here in the UK just at a lower level than offshore.