Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Inspire me! What should I do for work? Working with kids maybe...

(10 Posts)
somewheregreener Fri 06-Oct-17 12:31:55

I am about to go back to work after being a sahm.

It has been quite a while since I last worked properly... had the kids and in between did a bit of freelance work for friend's business (admin type. Boring but extremely flexible and money better than no money!).

I did an education studies degree (not a qualified teacher), but since then haven't worked with kids. In between I was a PR for beauty brands. I don't want to go back to that again, I sort of hated it towards the end, I'd like to train to somehow work with younger children (4-7) but don't think I have the time (yet) to do a full PGCE or even a teacher-training-on-the-job post.

Can anyone recommend any job i could train up for??? Something that would be a couple of days a week. Totally up for training to get there, just don't have a full-on year of commitment to give just yet.

Would love any advice!

somewheregreener Fri 06-Oct-17 12:51:34

Anyone?

RebelRogue Fri 06-Oct-17 12:53:46

Enquire about TA jobs maybe?

MessyBun247 Fri 06-Oct-17 12:54:21

Tutoring?

somewheregreener Fri 06-Oct-17 12:58:31

TA job is interesting! Do you need an official qualification for that?

Not sure what I'd tutor in, also looking to get out the house and work with people again - more than one child anyway.

Does anyone know much about how to get into something like forest school etc?

RebelRogue Fri 06-Oct-17 17:30:54

@somewheregreener at our school is the school staff that do it.
Look into volunteering in a classroom first maybe.
Also look at the schools in your area and what requirements they have for TA's. Some might require qualifications,some might not.

Somewheregreener Fri 06-Oct-17 18:27:04

Thanks rebel!