Talk

Advanced search

Retraining in mid forties

(5 Posts)
Nasreen Tue 12-Sep-17 12:11:40

Has anyone done this? What did you re train in? How did you fund your course and did you secure employment at the end?

I am an ex teacher. Left the profession a good ten years ago. Employment history has been somewhat sporadic over the last decade, due to illness and raising children. Now the children are older and I am well, I am struggling to find any kind of meaningful employment. Currently volunteering at the local CAB which I love but need to earn some money.

Thinking re training might be the way forward (if I could decide what to retrain in!). The only thing that worries me is my age. I will be closer to 50 when/if I qualify, then I will need to secure a job. I have already had two student loans in the past (for degree course and PGCE) so I am guessing I would either need to self fund, or look for a course with a bursary?

Any positive stories to enlighten me, would be appreciated!

:-)

OP’s posts: |
Southlondonmum76 Wed 20-Sep-17 08:28:07

Hi Nasreen
I was hoping you would have received some replies as I'm interested in hearing positive stories too. I too am looking to retrain. I'm in my early forties, had my first baby a few months ago. My background is nurising (mental health) and administration.

Right now I am considering retraining as a counsellor maybe, but then also considering an online business. I do enjoy creative hobbies, I also looked in courses relating to HR and have other ideas too.
What ideas have you had? What is it you'd really like to do, what are you passionate about?
I don't feel age should hold anyone back. If you've got the opportunity to retrain then go for it. It doesn't matter you will be near 50 when you qualify. At least you will be happy in a new career. It will be exciting! smile

ringle Wed 20-Sep-17 20:32:31

Paralegal?

LeoTimmyandVi Wed 20-Sep-17 22:19:30