Talk

Advanced search

Am I the only one with a degree who has a 'McJob?'

(6 Posts)
Zippydoodah Fri 23-Jun-17 11:50:10

A bit of background. I did a degree in the early 90s. I got a 2:2, which was expected. I could have got more but it would have been a slog.

When I finished, I had a few minor MH issues. I took the easy option and worked for a tiny software firm with no career progression, which I stayed with for 10 years until I had my eldest. The company folded during my maternity leave so I took a job, any job, which I have been in ever since.

For reference, I have two children, aged 8 and 13. The 13 has had some MH issues, which have improved somewhat. The 8 yr old is now playing up. I also have an elderly mother whose health is failing and becoming more dependent on me. She has been emotionally dependent on me for 5 yrs. I have a sister but doesn't seem to be able to help as much though has stepped up lately.

The job itself fits in around the school but the hours are unsociable. It's a big company and the perks are great, especially for someone with a family. The people I work with are nice (apart from a few questionable managers and customers).

However, the job issue has always been a kind of calling. I want something I can be proud of and can make my mark on the world (boke). Old uni friends have all had a career. None has gone down my path.

Every time I try to seriously consider I move, I am literally paralysed with panic. I am very susceptible to stress anyway (even before the above stuff) and always said I did not want a job where it took over my life so I've kind of avoided a career. I did do some voluntary work related to my degree but it dried up and I figured I did want to get paid anyway.

It's very hard when I myself don't really seem to know myself what I want out of a job. I want to use my brain but don't want to feel overly stressed or out of my depth iyswim.

Any ideas?

OP’s posts: |
Nasreen Fri 23-Jun-17 12:44:48

Hi