Talk

Advanced search

Starting again in my 40s??!

(7 Posts)
CherryPieAndDamnFineCoffee Mon 20-Mar-17 16:21:49

Just wondering if anyone has any career advice for me, or if I am doomed!

Background - I'm in my early 40s, haven't worked for around 13yrs due to being on maternity leave / carer for my disabled child. My youngest is coming up for a year old, and my disabled child is now of an age where his disability is a bit easier to manage, and I'm wondering what on earth I'm going to do employment wise!

I have a degree in engineering, though I graduated over 20yrs ago and tbh, I'd struggle to remember anything relevant. I did work in a sort of related field, but nothing much that would be relevant for a similar job nowadays.

I potentially have a year or two to retrain in something before I'm intending going back to work, but I'm unsure what would be my best option. Ideally something with the potential for a good salary (though not sure how realistic that would be, re-entering job market mid-forties with not much relevant experience!), and ideally something with the option of working from home / being freelance. I should also add I have an illness that has the potential for chronic fatigue in the future (though not definitely), hence why I'm thinking something with the potential to be flexible / self-employed. Another thing I should add is that I suspect I have Aspergers, and prefer working alone and am really not a "leader" type.