Talk

Advanced search

Imposter syndrome

(4 Posts)
TheVeryHungryDieter Wed 01-Mar-17 07:16:32

Hi, just wondering if anyone else is struggling with this? How do you tell yourself it will be ok?

I went back into the workforce two years ago, in a part-time, easy job. Last month I got fed up of the environment after a restructure and applied for a job in the profession I qualified for ten years ago but never practised in. I wrote a good application - I know it was good as it was based on an application I did for a recent promotion. I studied hard for the written assessment, did ok I thought at the panel interview and they've now offered me a job. Not only that but they're offering me work in a department that I frankly think is way out of my league. It's dream job stuff for me.

I'm utterly delighted. And terrified. I feel like I'm in way over my head, like I must have misrepresented my skills or ability. I know you have to sell yourself at interview and on paper but I'm now feeling that I may be on the hook for false advertising!! I'm more nervous that when I start, I'll be starting with a group of new starters who will be fresh from this industry and who will know what's expected of them. I haven't been in this line of work for ten years. I barely remember how to do some of the key skills. I think I'm deluded to even have applied and it's all going to end in tears, mostly mine. And the kids will need full time nanny care whereas they're much happier with me around four days of the week (I had to do a month of full time training recently for a promotion and DS really struggled, but he's going to be starting school in September so he might just have to get used to it). Bloody hell.

How do I tell myself it's a good thing and I'm not a delusional loser who's about to defraud an employer by not being worth the paycheque?!

hutchblue Wed 01-Mar-17 12:44:31

Get reading.

Feel the Fear and Do it anyway by Susan Jeffers
Lean In by Cheryl Sandberg