Talk

Advanced search

Does anyone work in payroll?

(18 Posts)
newcareerpath Sun 12-Feb-17 10:23:29

I am currently on maternity leave but am planning a career change when it finishes. I currently work in education but would love a career along the lines of payroll. I have no admin experience (other than my work as a teacher). I have a plan of action:

1. Complete the 3 levels of sage50 payroll,
2. Complete a microsoft excel course,
3. Contact local companies to see whether I'd be able to do some voluntary work/work experience in their payroll department whilst on maternity leave (thinking a day a week).

Does anyone have any other suggestions of what could help? I am determined that now is the time for a career change and to finally do something I'd really enjoy.

Thank you.

user1486613612 Sun 12-Feb-17 16:25:27

Wouldn't smaller companies have someone who does both accounting and payroll, and a bit of 'office management' too and a bit of being a 'receptionist', answering the phone, paying taxes etc.? In my world, companies have to be fairly big to have someone work exclusively in payrolls, but all companies have to have someone who actually pays out the salaries but often it's either done centrally (outsourced) or it's to be juggled with various other tasks.

user1486613612 Sun 12-Feb-17 16:26:30

You can probably do the Excel yourself by purchasing a good book + viewing YouTube videos. Nobody would know the difference between that, and a regular (expensive) course.

Wondermoomin Sun 12-Feb-17 16:35:35

I would probably speak to a local recruitment agency or two and ask them about routes into this work.

Also, rather than saying you have no admin experience, have a think about the skills you do have that translate across well so that you can go in and have positive discussions...

Working to deadlines
Meticulous with detail
Discreet and able to handle confidential information
Etc etc

newcareerpath Mon 13-Feb-17 03:04:40