Talk

Advanced search

AIBU? Absolutely dreading going back to work after maternity leave. Tips?

(4 Posts)
Jenniferb21 Sat 11-Feb-17 18:33:05

Hi all.

DS will be nearly a year old in April when I'm due to go back to work. It's a stressful job I'm a manager and often took work home and was expected to travel to London for meetings. I earn about £30-40k (depends on bonuses) annually and DS earns £50k annually. Our mortgage is reasonable but we have £4K on a credit card left to pay off. We got marrie and spent all our savings and got pregnant within a month and didn't have much time to save for our first baby. So that was basically for furniture, travel stuff, decorating and buying baby items.

I understand that £4K is a lot of money but it's on an interest free card for now and I think on £50k he'd pay it off quite quick on his own and id obviously have to pull back on going out for coffees and that sort of thing I've done on maternity leave.

I just hated my job in the end and we're planning on getting pregnant next summer. I also had terrible sickness and was sick up to 20 times a day even with medication. It was an hour commune there and back and we've still not found a nursery or CM in the area we like. DH agrees the only one we like doesn't have spaces.

So I've said this week can I just not go back? He's said no because of this £4K and he wants to save for another baby. I really think this is silly given our plans for next year and because we can't find childcare we're happy with.

AIBU? Anyone else been in this situation? Any tips?

Jaagojaago Sat 11-Feb-17 22:04:50

Two ways to look at it.

For some people it's financial calculations of the here and the now which allow one person to stay at home because it works better for the here and the now.

For others short term financial losses and struggle are the way to keep both careers going so continuing to work now is an investment in the future