Talk

Advanced search

No job to return to?!

(8 Posts)
user1470064958 Sun 15-Jan-17 20:14:16

Hi I'm new to mumsnet and a new mum and am desperate for some advice?

I left my work last May around 8 months ago to have my DD.

I was employed at a restaurant before baby where I had worked for 2 years, I always was assured I would have a job to return to if I wanted to and although I never had a contract my maternity allowance paperwork was filled out with good grace. During the time working there I did every Thursday and Friday night.

DD was born in June and a did a shift casually in August as they were short staffed. Late September I tried to arrange some shifts at the end of October to start up again doing a night a week.

As a response I was told I could have a great reference so glad I was well etc etc but they didn't need my staff at the moment . Since this they have employed other people whilst never offering me the available shifts. I was also removed from the staff Facebook page.

All in all it's been sh*t as I loved the job and thought I had a lot of friends there.

So the question is legally can they do it as I worked there for such a long time and they filled all my maternity allowance paperwork confirming my hours over the previous year. I'm wondering if I had any rights and if there's anything I can do at all really? 

QuizteamBleakley Mon 16-Jan-17 14:03:26

You worked there for TWO years and never had any kind of contract? I'm not 100% on current employment law but that's not right. You are also afforded additional rights when on mat leave.

If you've been dismissed while on mat leave, you must have a reason for this in writing - and there are other glaring holes in what you've written here. I'd advise you to get this moved to somewhere like AIBU - for traffic and advice. In the meantime, start reading this to get a general understanding of what should happen.