Talk

Advanced search

Can anyone in the legal profession tell me if I'm normal?

(11 Posts)
Worryingonathurs Thu 14-Jul-16 18:51:51

I'm looking for reassurance as I'm having a major wobble.

I'm a solicitor at a small, niche firm (think sole practitioner, no hr, no support staff, and if the receptionist is away everyone chips in regardless of seniority. I have been in the field 11 years.

In 2014 I became incredibly anxious and doubted myself at every turn. It started with just re checking things that I had done hundreds of times before and that I had double checked already, and it culminated in me not taking on any new cases and allowing colleagues to take on things that I had first refusal on. (We are all commission based so they loved me for it, but I felt the financial strain.)

Nothing preceeded this anxiety professionally but I had been under some stress with a complicated pregnancy that I feared I would miscarry (as per medical advice) I had also suffered some sudden bereavements.

I was doing quite well professionally and had a great relationship with my boss and colleagues.

I did sensless things, ie if I was filing and serving Friday I would be in the office until 11pm Thursday just checking and re checking even the shortest most basic bundle. I was constantly on edge and it spilled over to other things such as feeling that strangers were looking at me, a fear of being in public and a multitude of obsessions that I wont list. I had a word with my boss and he said he'd noticed a level of anxiety and just to not take on anything too complex.

I decided that once my ongoing cases were concluded I would take a career break rather than mat leave as it wouldnt have been fair to clients for me to continue. That took me to nearly 5 months pregnant and I left. My boss and colleagues were aware of the risks in my pregnancy and the door was left open for me.