Talk

Advanced search

advice on how to move forwards

(6 Posts)
mrgrouper Sat 14-May-16 09:57:49

I have a medical degree from Cambridge but was sacked in a disability discrimination case which I won. However after that I could not return to medicine as I hated my job and never wanted to train as a doctor in the first place, I was pushed into it by my parents. I wanted to learn physics.
Over the last 4 years I have set up a commercial cleaning company. Things were going really well and I was earning good money, before splitting from my husband due to domestic abuse and becoming a single mum to a 4 year old. Now I cannot do early morning shifts, so one by one lost my customers. The final nail in the coffin for my cleaning business was when my ex took me to court, making all types of false allegations about me (I was allegedly on drugs, violent, learning difficulties, dog poo all over my house). I was terrified the courts would take my son off me, but they saw through the lies and Cafcass fully exonerated me. However I was too stressed to continue.
I do not know what my next step will be. I could do a physics degree, but would need financial help off my dad for the tuition fees. It would be a very tough option.
I have depression at the moment, exhaustion from the fear of thinking I was losing my son.
Can anyone advise me how to move forwards? I do not want a job where there is a lot of dealing with people as I am not good at that due to Asperger's.
I just feel like a total failure.

jclm Sun 22-May-16 17:24:28

You need some good careers advice!! Have you been to the careers service? They do free careers advice which is really good. I had a free hour session a while back and it was amazing.