Talk

Advanced search

What skills do teachers have that are truly transferable?

(13 Posts)
DakotaFanny Tue 19-Jan-16 11:34:30

I know this has been done to death but please help... I'm an English teacher, 20 years experience, good at my job: I love the kids, love seeing them sparkle when they get something and love working with teenagers. I have held various in-house management positions, including head of year, second in subject etc etc.

I have to get out.

I'm not wanting to turn this into a teacher bash, or even a teacher clap on the back. It's just become an insurmountable task which is making me unhappy, turning me into a bad mother and making me feel angry pretty much constantly. It's not the classroom, it's EVERYTHING else.

What's killing me is that I just don't know what else I could do- I don't want to tutor. I don't want to sell educational books. I am in the Midlands so I can't write them. I really want a fresh start, but I have responsibilities and need to be earning £30k+. Who on earth is going to take the risk on someone without experience and pay them anything like that amount of money?

Please tell me what skills I should be playing on and in what kind of field I could look....ideally I'd like to do something hospitality / retail based but, beyond being a teenage bar-maid and waitress, have no experience in either!

I am, however, very hard working, bubbly, enthusiastic, committed, confident. I can run a team. I am happy to be led. I think I would be worth a risk but accept that you might be mad to take one on me.

I just don't want to do this any more and it breaks my heart that, after 20 years of hard graft, I feel like I have absolutely nowhere to turn.

Brookville Wed 20-Jan-16 20:12:54

Hi there, I have been pondering this question for the last few months. I quit in July and have done a bit of tutoring and teaching adult learners.