Talk

Advanced search

Is it possible to teach Primary and Survive with two DCS?

(24 Posts)
SlingMomma Thu 19-Nov-15 11:22:39

Seriously? Any of you out there Primary Teachers? I was wondering whether it's possible to combine the two and keep the whole show (hubby/ house/ children) on the road? Anyone know someone doing this successfully? Or part-timers?

ppeatfruit Thu 19-Nov-15 17:08:04

I was a full time primary teacher before we had dcs.I Took a long break there's no way i could face that sort of stress grin and went back to supply and some part time when they were quite a lot older grin.

I admit we had a cleaner anyway P\T of course but i still couldn't have kept a half way decent largish house with 3 dcs and being at home!!

SlingMomma Thu 19-Nov-15 18:46:32

Ahhh, okay. This seems similar to other things I've heard. Presumably there must be some women who DO, though? Did you find it just about manageable when you went PT? And is there anyone else out there who has managed without...well basically going bonkers?!

ppeatfruit Fri 20-Nov-15 07:00:17

Iam older and noticed how much more stress was involved in the job when I returned to do supply grin. I only did one day a week as P\T

Now IMO it is a job that is almost impossible to do properly FT. WITHOUT dcs!!!!! (due to the administration ) . Let alone with them.

You'd need very good support and be doing it for love (certainly not money!!).

futureme Fri 20-Nov-15 07:04:19

Um I only know one and she had a sahd.

At my school the teachers who are parents have resigned in the last year....

JennyOnAPlate Fri 20-Nov-15 07:51:53

My best friend does it with 3 dc under 8. She has a LOT of family support though. She has a number of relatives locally who do a lot of childcare for her, and her mum does all her ironing!

SlingMomma Fri 20-Nov-15 09:27:18

Ahhh, OK...I see a trend emerging here!!

SlingMomma Fri 20-Nov-15 09:30:02