Talk

Advanced search

Office Admin Training: this the norm or a hard sell.

(19 Posts)
absolutelynotfabulous Sat 11-Jul-15 17:25:47

Hi all. I approached a well-known recruitment agency/ office skills training provider with a view to upgrading my office skills. I'm a lecturer/manager/teacher with some admin skills and rusty Word.

The agency representative said I should take a course in Excel and Outlook, then look at upping my typing speeds (currently about 60 words a minute). This, she claimed, should make me a bit more employable but will cost about a grand.

I'm trying to get back into "proper" work after a stint of casual work/ sahming, I'm 55 and I'm not sure it's worth the cost. My skills could do with a bit of upgrading, though, but would my age be against me even with added skills?

I'm getting the impression I'm on the scrapheap...

Muskey Sat 11-Jul-15 17:39:31

I think it's a bit OTT. I was 50 when I went back to work after a five year career break. Although I did do voluntary work in order to keep my word and outlook skills up to date. I would say you do need excell and outlook. Your typing skills sound fine (much better than mine)

Please don't let other people make you feel too old. I am sure you have many transferable skills that employers would love to have. Good luck

absolutelynotfabulous Sat 11-Jul-15 17:45:26

Gee thanks, Muskey. My admin skills are ok, kind of, but I've never actually been an office worker as such. So the skills I have are kind of halfway there. I can do lots of things in Powerpoint, and I can type ok, but I'm not capable enough admin-wise to land an office job simply on the basis of my skills.

I hadn't thought of doing voluntary work in an admin role, so thanks for the tip!

VivaLeBeaver Sat 11-Jul-15 17:49:17

Sounds like a bit of a con to me.

Can you do some temping to get more up to date experience but get paid as well?

NewsreaderChic Sat 11-Jul-15 17:51:12

Surely this is training you could do by yourself at home?