Talk

Advanced search

Return to work after illness

(3 Posts)
Clarella Tue 12-May-15 14:47:56

Hi - my illness is mix of things that has elements of CFS - but it isn't this.

Consequently I could be 100% fit and well in the next year or it could take longer or never.

I'm a teacher - outstanding obs, upper pay scale. I've been advised medically to request two days ( I was 3 following baby, became gradually ill struggling on for a year and a term before succumbed. I've been effectively an invalid. It has been a mix of iron deficiency, thyroid issues and now diagnosed hypermobility syndrome, I'm still unsure if the last one is forever or I can Recover from as the other issues may have caused it with pregnancy)

Head wants me in class. I think she had ideas for me to job share. If I felt 100% I'd be delighted. But I'm not there yet. I'm keen to do phased return before summer but am mindful of the summer break. If it weren't for that I think it would be aclittle while longer. But I feel I could be ready in sept - but unsure about 3 days.

Gp has been adamant I am well and on top of daily living at home including some of the sporting things I used to do for a month before returning. I'm not there yet, but my sick note runs out end of May.

School are anxious to get plans into place - understandably! I am too, but I'm struggling with some new mh issues as a result of what I've been through. Going back will help, but hinder if I'm not well physically.

Oc health report recommended 2 days would be realistic and a good idea, as had rheum, physio, gp family. It's more the managing fatigue side of things.

I teach Sen - ASD and complex needs. It's physical! I'm motivated to get fully well as I hate being incapacitated
But I don't know how long it will take!