This is sort of lighthearted, can I ask for some help with a new career please?

(14 Posts)
Bewildered7 Thu 30-Apr-15 19:21:09

I have name changed because I am embarrassed at my situation!

I am 33. I have no DC.

I have a Master's in Sociology (most useful subject ever, right)?

I have a Level 3 in Counselling (Level 4 needed to practice).

I didn't take Level 4 because I bought a house and just didn't have the money to do it (It's about 4-5K), and plus I looked at the earning potential and didn't know if it will be worth it, even though it is something I feel I would like to do, and also, it feels like something I could retrain in at any time so doesn't need to be done, 'yet' and I feel I should be earning money instead of studying.

I have a part time weekend job which began as a fulltime job but my hours got reduced-no chance of them being upped again. It's a great job, good pay, but basically involves smiling at people and helping host parties. I can't do it forever, and I want to be busy during the week. I feel I am wasting my brain and my degrees.

I like to help people-have thought about care work but everyone I know who does it (and what I have read on here!) have/has put me off.

I love animals

I like researching, writing. After Uni I had a job training people and developing new theories on training and customer service, researching groups of people. A great job but I was heavily bullied by some members of management, and sacked whilst off sick with stress as a result.

If you were me, what would you do? If you were a careers advisor and I walked in, what would you tell me to do?

Anything goes! Sorry for the entitlement I am just upset I've ended up in this situation and willing to try anything to get some insight!

My family have suggested I retrain totally as a dental nurse, or a teacher.. I have considered both but it seems they cost money?

Many thanks in advance.

A very confused and bewildered mumsnetter.

GoodToesBadToes Thu 30-Apr-15 19:24:14