Talk

Advanced search

Trying a new career path

(6 Posts)
BulletForMySandwich Mon 17-Feb-14 10:40:28

I don't honestly know what to do with my career. I'm a stay at home mum and happy to be! But my whole childhood was full of credit cards being run up, overdrafts and all of that's I want my dd to not have that growing up. I'm a trained chef and cake decorator but I don't want to be a chef any more - the work is so antisocial! And everyone seems to be a cake decorator these days so not many people will pay the bigger prices when they know someone who'll give it a go for cheapie cheap! I've only ever worked in customer service (shops, cafés) and I was thinking of going back to college to retrain as something but don't know what - I'm very flexible but want something that will result in decent pay with decent hours - I don't want to be stuck in dead end jobs like my parents were - it makes me sad for them sad
I just don't really know what's out there - I don't know if anyone could help? Thanks!

FrogGreen Mon 17-Feb-14 10:45:34

what do you like doing? Are you creative? technical? are there aspects of chef-ing / cake-decorating that you enjoyed more than others?

BulletForMySandwich Mon 17-Feb-14 10:47:42

I like cake decorating but I prefer working with people, coming up with new ideas, reorganising things - I once came up with all new ideas to refurb a cafe I worked in - they took my advice but I'd left but that point!

FrogGreen Mon 17-Feb-14 11:25:16

have you thought of teaching? my aunt was a chef, lots of hard work doing events and so on, she refurbed her kitchen so she could run cooking classes at home, she's never looked back!

BulletForMySandwich Mon 17-Feb-14 11:30:14

I think I don't have enough experience to do that, and not enough money to start up! I wouldn't mind teaching but I don't know how is best to get into it/which age group i would like to teach? It's so difficult, I wish if made a better decision the first time around with college!