Talk

Advanced search

Too old for teacher training?

(11 Posts)
lazyeye Mon 09-Feb-04 10:15:34

Q for all you teachers out there.

I'm thinking about teacher training, probably not this Sept but next. I will have 3 v small children - well one at school (just 5) 3 and 1. Am I mad and am I too old? I'm 35 just now so will be 37 then.

I have a BA and an MSc in computing (conversion) Will I get away with the one yr PGCE or have to update my skills?

Any advice ?

Thanks in advance.

lazyeye Mon 09-Feb-04 10:44:27

Girls you are making me think I *am* to old and you are all too polite to tell me..........

ks Mon 09-Feb-04 10:49:14

Message withdrawn

CountessDracula Mon 09-Feb-04 10:59:18

Of course you aren't too old. A PGCE is one year, and given that you will probably work until you are 65, you have 27 years of working life left which is plenty. Go for it!

JessicaR Mon 09-Feb-04 15:04:25

Hi Lazyeye - I work at a University and deal with admissions onto teacher training courses. You're definitely not too old - we have applicants in their 50s! Whether you are mad....well I couldn't comment! The Teacher Training Agency has a good website which might help www.useyourheadteach.gov.uk.

lazyeye Mon 09-Feb-04 15:19:17

Thanks everyone. I've got lots of time to think about it anyway, but do fancy it, but thought I was cracking on a bit. If I teach IT its a way of combining something I already know about (in theory) with something new.

cazzybabs Mon 09-Feb-04 15:36:56