Talk

Advanced search

Issues re returning to work

(12 Posts)
Pattilou Mon 29-May-06 20:55:54

I'm going to be contributing to a workshop next year on returning to work after a career break (I'm a life coach working with mothers). My bit will be the emotional issues - lack of confidence, time management, etc. I'd love to know what issues other mums would like to see covered in a workshop on this issue (not the practical stuff like CVs, but the emotional side).

gigwig Wed 31-May-06 09:42:42

I think time management and dealing happily with the 2 different aspects of your life - work and home - so that it feels like things are well balanced and in control.

Whizzz Wed 31-May-06 09:47:37

ditto what gigwig says and how to deal with letting someone else look after your child - the guilt trip on top of everything else you have to cope with at that time!

melrose Wed 31-May-06 09:50:32

I think it is important to cover what is/ is not acceptable to expect of the company in adjusting to your new juggling role! for example how do you cope at work when your child is sick (mean emotionally as well as practical) and coping with non- parents who do not understand the emotions of havinga child. Thsi si an area I really struggled with.

fennel Wed 31-May-06 10:29:19

how about something on how to negotiate changing roles with your DH/DP. If they've been used to someone full time at home doing most of the childcare and housework that can cause a lot of tensions when the SAHP starts paid work. So it could cover things like discussing with DH/DP about childcare pick ups and housework and who looks after sick children.

Whizzz Wed 31-May-06 10:31:05

Yes deffo the legal aspects of what your employer can / can't do - the right questions to ask them about your rights (or not as the case my be) according to their procedure/ policy

grumpyfrumpy Wed 31-May-06 10:33:43

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Issyfit Wed 31-May-06 10:38:37