Talk

Advanced search

Any school science technicians out there?

(8 Posts)
HouseLikeAZoo Fri 28-Sep-12 14:36:51

I have just heard that I have an interview for a school science technician job next week.

I haven't been in paid employment since going on maternity leave in 2003, although I have done lots of voluntary work in the meantime. I have a science degree and lab experience - although I am a biologist and this job is for a physics lab. I haven't worked in a school before.

In short, HELP! Any interview tips (haven't had a job interview for 10+ yrs!)? I would love to hear from people working in school labs, just to give me an idea of the kinds of things that might be expected of me. Pretty please?

flubba Sat 29-Sep-12 10:07:53

I'm not, but DH is Head of Science. Have asked him and he says...

In interview he'd ask you to make up a solution and he titrates it to make sure it's accurate. Seems a bit obvious but apparently many can't do it!

In labs: be organised, make up solutions, get equipment ready etc etc

HTH a bit. Good luck!

Knowsabitabouteducation Sat 29-Sep-12 10:45:36

In a school science department, the teachers will give you orders for the practical equipment they need for lessons in the coming week (or maybe even later that day). Your job is to get out the equipment and lay it out. Afterwards, to put it away again.

In addition to day-to-day work like this, you will have to make sure that the equipment is well-maintained, eg batteries are still okay.

Depending on the teachers, you may be asked occasionally to help out with practicals in lessons.

When teachers ask for equipment, they might not give you very good instructions, so you should try to anticipate their needs. If the give you an experiment from a new course, you may not have the equipment in school, so you would work with the teacher to work out alternatives.

If the teacher is trying out a new experiment before unleashing it on the class, you should be on hand to help out.