Talk

Advanced search

Back to work struggling to cope

(14 Posts)
walrusmoustache Thu 27-Sep-12 18:28:49

I recently went back part time 3 days week, my son is 9.5 mo and I'm a primary teacher, doing job share.
Just need a little advice please, or a kick up the bum. I'm hating being back, just want to be at home but we need the money. Feel like I'm failing everywhere; at work, at home, being a constantly tired mummy.
The house is a total pit, never have dinner ready, huge pile of dirty washing etc
Does anyone have any tips on how to cope? Does it get any easier? At the moment it feels awful and most nights after work I spend in tears. Wish I could resign but it's just not possible with mortgage and bills to pay.

Autumnalis Thu 27-Sep-12 18:34:49

It's early days. What do you hate? The mess? Dinner not ready? If you are two adults in the house, share the jobs. It gets easier, your standards drop somewhat too smile

cheekypickle Thu 27-Sep-12 19:08:36

Okay so this is not very helpful but I hate it too!!!!

I'm a primary school teacher gone back 3days a week with 13 month old.

All I can say is that I don't love my job anymore! I love my little one.

I go to work, do the job and come home and don't think about it again.

walrusmoustache Thu 27-Sep-12 19:22:00

I hate the fact that I can't seem to do anything right, not work - where I can't be bothered, not home - where I'm too tired to get anything done.
The house being a mess and being disorganised is just not me, or didn't use to be anyway

Nevercan Thu 27-Sep-12 20:56:02

I went back three days after my two maternity leaves. It does get better and you find a way to get all the jobs done. I do a couple of things each night and if things are getting really behind I get my other half to take them out on a sat morning for a couple of hours so I can get stuff done. On my days at home during the week we do fun stuff in the morning and then play at home in the afternoon whilst I potter and get bits done. HTH