Talk

Advanced search

Access Database Question

(6 Posts)
purpleprincess Sun 09-Oct-11 15:47:12

I'm applying for a job in the training department of a university. It is a coordinator job which I feel I have the right skills for except they want 'experience of keeping accurate records and using access database'. I've had plenty of experience keeping records on Excel etc but never used Access before but how difficult can it be?

Any tips about Access or ideas of how I could relate any previous experience. they also want "experience of working in a training and development office environment" which I havent had directly although have worked in HR and worked with people in training. Why do employers have to be so specific - isn't it all about transferable skills these days?

Sorry for the mini-rant but any advice would be appreciated.

TIA
PP

Grevling Sun 09-Oct-11 15:51:45

Experience of access can cover so much. At the basic end its entering data into forms and running pre printed reports. At its most complex end its writing sql to aggregate data from multiple sources.

I'd ask for what they mean and do some reading/practice. You can try Office 2010 free online for 60 days on the microsoft website so should be able to get some practice in.

purpleprincess Sun 09-Oct-11 15:59:59

Thanks for that info - I'll have a look. I'm just struggling as to what to put on my supporting statement! confused

piprabbit Sun 09-Oct-11 16:06:18

I taught myself to use Access, even got to the point where I write a little SQL when I needed to.

I'm assuming that they already have a database set up (rather than asking you to build one), so they might want you to do some data entry. This could be directly into a database (which looks a bit like an Excel spreadsheet) or they might have got some data entry forms set up so that you key new records into a nice user-friendly form.