Talk

Advanced search

Being out of work for a long time, will I ever get back?

(7 Posts)
oldteacher Thu 06-Oct-11 15:17:49

Feeling a bit 'woe is me' about the whole job situation. I'm trying to get back into proper work but finding it an uphill struggle and just feel that I'm never going to get back especially given the current economic climate.

Background- I used to be a teacher but finished when I had my first child, just over 7 years ago. It was mainly due to moving areas, but I was also glad to finish and concentrate on having a family. I've had 3 more children since then and now most are at Primary school I'm trying to look at returning. I've been busy since having children with various voluntary work with the NCT and a toddler group and feel I have accrued other valuable and tranferable skills. I also ran my own business for a short time, finished a masters degree and currently I'm volunteering in school a day a week to try and get refreshed in teaching.

I've applied for a few jobs and had 1 unsuccessful interview but realistically I'm limited to part and term time work and also a smallish area for possible work. I'm looking at everything possible, teaching and other suitable jobs. The interview I had did suggest I register for supply work at that school which I did but have heard nothing so far- making me feel even more on the scrap heap. Starting to feel very despondent about the situation, and unsure at how I can do more to improve my prospects. I'd consider retraining in something but I do like teaching and the area of education, and partly that it's a bit daft given I'm already trained in something. I've never felt so down about the future and regret having so much time out. And at the same time I feel angry that there is so little help and guidance for SAHP to get back into the workplace when they're ready.

So what else can I do, what else can I try? Is there any hope that I can be economically desirable again?