Talk

Advanced search

IT tests-can anyone help?

(6 Posts)
LizzyLiz Thu 15-Sep-11 14:07:02

Hi,

My youngest has just started school and I'm job-hunting. I applied for a local authority admin-based role doing and I have been selected for testing. I'm really excited and very nervous as it's been a few years since I last worked in an office.

Anyway, the tests will be verbal reasoning, copy typing and Word, Excel and Outlook. I've got no admin/IT qualifications and all my IT skills are self-taught, trial-and-error level though I was fairly good at what I needed to do with them in my last role.

I used to use Word and I did inputting on Excel and used Outlook for email at work but haven't used any really for the past 4 years. Does anyone know what sort of things I might need to be able to do? Excel is worrying me the most because I have never set up a spreadsheet and wouldn't know how to. I think the person I spoke to said the tests were 'basic'.

Please help! Thank you

AMumInScotland Thu 15-Sep-11 16:18:00

I don't know specifically, but I would expect it will be very basic stuff. Do you have these products at home to have a practice on?

With Excel, I'd think opening and closing a spreadsheet, entering some values, maybe changing the format of a column, entering a formula in a cell. Oh and sorting on one or more columns.

With Outlook - creating an email, replying and forwarding, moving them to another folder. Maybe searching emails. And probably using the Calendar - setting up an appointment on your calendar, possibly inviting other people to a meeting.

LizzyLiz Thu 15-Sep-11 17:59:41

Thank you. That's exactly what I need to focus my mind!

I don't have Excel or Outlook at home but will be practising on someone else's computer before the tests.

An0therName Thu 15-Sep-11 20:32:58

you might be able to get text books such as excel for dummies from your local libary

LizzyLiz Thu 15-Sep-11 20:38:39