Talk

Advanced search

Need help with part of my cv please

(3 Posts)
WhoWhoWhoWho Wed 14-Sep-11 11:49:20

I am updating my CV as I'd love to return to work part time somehow now DS is getting older and is settled in MS school.

I need to put in a small mention of my break in paid employment (2 years). I had to quit working and focus on my son has has autism. While I've not been in paid employment I have done lots of relevant courses (my background is childcare) to keep me up to date so have put these on CV obviously.

I need to write a sentence that states perhaps why I've not been working, what I've done, and that I want to return to work. Any ideas anyone on what I could put would be really helpful. smile

Mummawummadooda Wed 14-Sep-11 12:38:55

Hello,

How about something like;

For the last 24mths I have focused on developing my family life. Coincidentally this led to me covering new areas of child development and expanding my professional experience. I am now additionally qualified/certified/practically able to work with autistic children of abc age/development. I am keen to bring these additional skills into my professional life and offer assistance to those in need whilst achieving my ambition of a long term work/life balance.

I have tried to be a bit foggy as to why you have skills in autism as I have no idea how your prospective employers might view this additional considerable experience you obviously have - Im sure you know your area better to know how to phrase that!

Also its a bit heavy on the business waffle perhaps....you might want to tone that down too!

Its often easier to write something though when you have something to correct so get out the red pen and re-write away! :0)

WhoWhoWhoWho Wed 14-Sep-11 13:51:30